ASIP 2022

Lincoln Award Winner

2015 Lincoln Award Winner

Ed began his association with Lockheed in 1974 as a stress engineer on the C-130. He retired in 2013 after nearly 40 years of service. His career was spent entirely in the field of aircraft structures, but included varied assignments that resulted in experience in most of the structural sub-disciplines. At different times, he was involved in stress, fatigue, damage tolerance, finite element, structural dynamics and risk analysis.

By 1980, Ed was a Lead Engineer on the Durability and Damage Tolerance Analysis (DADTA) of the Air Force C-130s. In this assignment, he participated in developing many of the models and methods that would be used in the assessment and are still largely used on C-130 today. Throughout this project, the development and application of the methods was reviewed quarterly by Dr. Lincoln. Ed considers the interactions with Dr. Lincoln over the course of several years on that project to have been an invaluable learning experience.

Next, Mr. Ingram was assigned another DADTA Lead engineer responsibility. This time, in Burbank, California for the assessment of the SR-71, where once again he benefitted from technical interaction with Dr. Lincoln.

Over the next few years, Ed held engineering leadership positions on the C-5B and Special Projects. Following the 1986 Challenger accident, Ed supported NASA during the Space Shuttle Recertification. He continued to work with NASA on several structures research projects throughout the 1990s, culminating with the High Speed Civil Transport.

In the early 2000s, Lockheed Martin and the Air Force began the C-5M Program to modernize the C-5 with new engines and pylons, along with the avionics upgrades. Assigned once again to C-5, Ed served as Chief Technical Advisor and Chairman of the Fracture Control. In this time frame, the C-5 encountered several structural problems with stress corrosion cracking in a number of airframe components, including a major fitting called the Tiebox. The Tiebox problem led to Ed working again with Dr. Lincoln to find a solution that would maintain risk to safe levels until new fittings were available.

Following the peak of the C-5M work, Ed was asked to support the Widespread Fatigue Damage Assessment of the aging commercial transports, by preparing the Methodology Plan and by consulting throughout the assessment. In 2002, he was selected as a Technical Fellow, and in 2008, Senior Fellow. In these capacities, Ed was asked to provide engineering support to a number of projects, including F-22 and F-35. He was also honored to be a member of the writing team for revision C of Mil-Std-1530.

Ed has authored several technical papers as well as numerous Lockheed Martin engineering reports.

Mr. Ingram earned a B.S. in Aerospace Engineering from Auburn University and a M.S. in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Tech. He and Jan have been married for 44 years, and are blessed with two wonderful daughters and seven amazing grandchildren.


View the History of Dr. Jack Lincoln

Dr. Jack lincoln

Mr. Ed Ingram, Lockheed Martin (Retired)

Year Lincoln Award Winners
2023 Mr. Chris Maddox
2022 Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus
2021 Dr. Dale L. Ball
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Mr. Ko-Wei Liu
2018 Dr. Robert "Bob" J. Bucci
2017 Mr. Robert J. Burt
2016 Dr. Anders Blom
2015 Mr. Ed Ingram
2014 Mr. Larry Perkins
2013 Dr. Thomas R. Brussat
2012 Mr. James L. Rudd
2011 Mr. Len Reid
2010 Professor Graham Clark
2009 Mr. Robert M. Bader
2008 Dr. Joseph P. Gallagher
2007 Dr. Alan P. Berens
2006 Dr. Ulf G. Goranson
2005 Mr. Charles R. Saff
2004 Mr. Robert Bell
2003 Mr. Ward Rummel
2002 Mr. Royce Forman
2001 Prof. James C. Newman, Jr.
2000 Prof. Alten Grandt, Jr.
1999 Prof. Jaap Schijve
1998 Mr. Thomas Swift
1997 Mr. Charles F. Tiffany
1996 Dr. John W. Lincoln
Year Manager of the Year Award Winners
2022 Jessie W. Martin
2021 Gregory T. Wood
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Richard B. Tayek
2018 Travis L. Reese
2017 Jon Kimmel
2016 Wirt Garcia
2015 Robert E. Bair
2014 David K. Wilkinson
2013 Darren B. Fritz
2012 Rodney Harberson
2011 Bryce Harris
2010 Paul D. Currie
2009 Michael P. Blinn
2008 Mike Sneed
2007 Mark L. Thomsen
2006 Peter J. Christiansen
2005 J. Alex Gaskin
2004 Alfred A. Clark