ASIP 2023

Lincoln Award Winner

2021 Lincoln Award Winner

Dale Ball has worked in the area of aircraft structural durability and damage tolerance for the past 39 years. He has been directly involved with fatigue spectrum generation methods and software development, fatigue crack initiation and growth analysis methods and software development, and with structural integrity requirements development and certification for air vehicles. Dale has worked in the military aircraft manufacturing industry throughout his career, supporting programs ranging from the B-2 stealth bomber, to the National Aerospace Plane (NASP), to the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter. His current research interests include the development of thermomechanical fatigue analysis methods for reusable hypersonic vehicles, the advancement of metal additive manufacturing technologies, and the modeling of residual stresses and non-linear material response and the impacts that they have on fatigue and fatigue crack growth. Dr. Ball holds a BS in Mechanical Engineering (from Louisiana State University), an MS in Engineering Mechanics and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering (both from the University of Texas at Arlington), and has authored or co-authored over ninety articles and conference publications. He is currently a Senior Fellow in the area of fatigue, fracture and sustainment methods development and test at Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company in Fort Worth Texas, where he has been for the past 34 years.


View the History of Dr. Jack Lincoln

Lincoln Award Winner

Dale L. Ball, Ph.D., Lockheed Martin Senior Fellow, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company

Year Lincoln Award Winners
2023 Mr. Chris Maddox
2022 Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus
2021 Dr. Dale L. Ball
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Mr. Ko-Wei Liu
2018 Dr. Robert "Bob" J. Bucci
2017 Mr. Robert J. Burt
2016 Dr. Anders Blom
2015 Mr. Ed Ingram
2014 Mr. Larry Perkins
2013 Dr. Thomas R. Brussat
2012 Mr. James L. Rudd
2011 Mr. Len Reid
2010 Professor Graham Clark
2009 Mr. Robert M. Bader
2008 Dr. Joseph P. Gallagher
2007 Dr. Alan P. Berens
2006 Dr. Ulf G. Goranson
2005 Mr. Charles R. Saff
2004 Mr. Robert Bell
2003 Mr. Ward Rummel
2002 Mr. Royce Forman
2001 Prof. James C. Newman, Jr.
2000 Prof. Alten Grandt, Jr.
1999 Prof. Jaap Schijve
1998 Mr. Thomas Swift
1997 Mr. Charles F. Tiffany
1996 Dr. John W. Lincoln
Year Manager of the Year Award Winners
2022 Jessie W. Martin
2021 Gregory T. Wood
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Richard B. Tayek
2018 Travis L. Reese
2017 Jon Kimmel
2016 Wirt Garcia
2015 Robert E. Bair
2014 David K. Wilkinson
2013 Darren B. Fritz
2012 Rodney Harberson
2011 Bryce Harris
2010 Paul D. Currie
2009 Michael P. Blinn
2008 Mike Sneed
2007 Mark L. Thomsen
2006 Peter J. Christiansen
2005 J. Alex Gaskin
2004 Alfred A. Clark