ASIP 2022

Lincoln Award Winner

2019 Lincoln Award Winner

Ko-Wei is a Technical Lead Engineer on the C-17 Program at Boeing in Long Beach, California. His career has been spent entirely in the field of aircraft structures in various disciplines supporting ASIP. This includes research and methodology development, requirements, stress, fatigue, fracture mechanics, finite element, testing, aircraft tracking, design and production support, structural certification, failure analysis, repair, risk analysis, and sustainment.

Ko-Wei began his aerospace career with Rockwell International in 1978 in El Segundo, California. During his time at Rockwell International Aircraft Division, Ko-Wei worked in research, development, B-1 and T-39 programs. His assignment included analysis tool development, stress, finite element, design support, testing, and aircraft tracking. It was on the B-1 program when he was first introduced to MIL-STD-1530, MIL-A-83444 and MIL-A-8866.

In 1985, Ko-Wei joined McDonnell Douglas Commercial Aircraft in Long Beach. He worked the development of DC-10 supplementary inspection document and MD11 damage tolerance assessment. Later he was tasked to lead the Navy T-45 landing gear team supervising the durability analyses and full scale fatigue test engineering development. With his experience on D&DT on B-1, he was also supporting C-17 ASIP during this time. He officially joined the C-17 program in 1987 as lead engineer forming a team responsible for analysis tools development, establishing durability and damage tolerance design criteria, analysis procedures and guidelines, planned and executed development test program, and supported the maintenance steering group in the development of structural maintenance requirements.

In the early 1990s Ko-Wei was asked to lead the durability and damage tolerance group responsible for executing C-17 ASIP that included DADTA, full scale durability test, individual aircraft tracking, loads monitoring, force structural maintenance and Analytical Condition Inspection programs. The team’s main accomplishment was to complete all the contractual ASIP requirements, and obtain airframe airworthiness for flight. He was also in charge of full scale durability test failure root cause assessment and developing solutions to correct the deficiencies. In late 1990s Ko-Wei participated in large unitized structure implementation and evaluating new technologies to reduce manufacturing cost. He worked closely with customers to develop criteria and qualification plan to certify the new design structure. Currently Ko-Wei oversees the team that is responsible for executing all the ASIP sustainment activities, support in-service issues, defining structural maintenance and modification requirements, and support force management activities. He also works closely with USAF and foreign customers on maintaining structural airworthiness of the C-17 aircraft.

Ko-Wei earned his MS degree in Engineering from California State University, Long Beach. He has authored several technical papers as well as engineering reports. Ko-Wei was selected as a Boeing Technical Fellow in 2003. In this capacity, he has been asked to provide engineering support and consultation to other Boeing aircraft programs and has served as member of numerous Independent Review Teams, within and outside of Boeing.


View the History of Dr. Jack Lincoln

Lincoln Award Winner

Mr. Ko-Wei Liu, Technical Lead Engineer on the C-17 Program, Boeing

Year Lincoln Award Winners
2023 Mr. Chris Maddox
2022 Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus
2021 Dr. Dale L. Ball
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Mr. Ko-Wei Liu
2018 Dr. Robert "Bob" J. Bucci
2017 Mr. Robert J. Burt
2016 Dr. Anders Blom
2015 Mr. Ed Ingram
2014 Mr. Larry Perkins
2013 Dr. Thomas R. Brussat
2012 Mr. James L. Rudd
2011 Mr. Len Reid
2010 Professor Graham Clark
2009 Mr. Robert M. Bader
2008 Dr. Joseph P. Gallagher
2007 Dr. Alan P. Berens
2006 Dr. Ulf G. Goranson
2005 Mr. Charles R. Saff
2004 Mr. Robert Bell
2003 Mr. Ward Rummel
2002 Mr. Royce Forman
2001 Prof. James C. Newman, Jr.
2000 Prof. Alten Grandt, Jr.
1999 Prof. Jaap Schijve
1998 Mr. Thomas Swift
1997 Mr. Charles F. Tiffany
1996 Dr. John W. Lincoln
Year Manager of the Year Award Winners
2022 Jessie W. Martin
2021 Gregory T. Wood
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Richard B. Tayek
2018 Travis L. Reese
2017 Jon Kimmel
2016 Wirt Garcia
2015 Robert E. Bair
2014 David K. Wilkinson
2013 Darren B. Fritz
2012 Rodney Harberson
2011 Bryce Harris
2010 Paul D. Currie
2009 Michael P. Blinn
2008 Mike Sneed
2007 Mark L. Thomsen
2006 Peter J. Christiansen
2005 J. Alex Gaskin
2004 Alfred A. Clark