ASIP 2023

Lincoln Award Winner

2022 Lincoln Award Winner

Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus is a Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Larry joined Miami University after serving for more than 21 years as an officer and an additional 14 years as a civilian employee of the United States Air Force (USAF).

He retired from the USAF in 2021 as Chief of the Air Force Airworthiness Office at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. In this position, Dr. Butkus provided leadership, resources, policies, and processes to perform airworthiness assessments on all air systems owned, leased, operated, used, designed, or modified by the USAF.

Dr. Butkus’ previous assignments include Chief Engineer of the Air Force Research Laboratory’s (AFRL’s) Materials & Manufacturing Directorate, Lead of AFRL’s Structural Materials Evaluation Team, Deputy for the USAF’s Aircraft Structural Integrity Program (ASIP), Lead of the F118 Engine Integrated Product Team, USAF Academy faculty member, and investigator supporting the Columbia Accident Investigation Board.

He is an evaluation team chair and evaluator for undergraduate engineering programs for ABET, a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and a licensed professional engineer.

Dr. Butkus earned his bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the University of Michigan, and the Georgia Institute of Technology, respectively.


View the History of Dr. Jack Lincoln

Lincoln Award Winner

Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus, USAF (Ret),
Visiting Assistant Professor, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio

Year Lincoln Award Winners
2023 Mr. Chris Maddox
2022 Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus
2021 Dr. Dale L. Ball
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Mr. Ko-Wei Liu
2018 Dr. Robert "Bob" J. Bucci
2017 Mr. Robert J. Burt
2016 Dr. Anders Blom
2015 Mr. Ed Ingram
2014 Mr. Larry Perkins
2013 Dr. Thomas R. Brussat
2012 Mr. James L. Rudd
2011 Mr. Len Reid
2010 Professor Graham Clark
2009 Mr. Robert M. Bader
2008 Dr. Joseph P. Gallagher
2007 Dr. Alan P. Berens
2006 Dr. Ulf G. Goranson
2005 Mr. Charles R. Saff
2004 Mr. Robert Bell
2003 Mr. Ward Rummel
2002 Mr. Royce Forman
2001 Prof. James C. Newman, Jr.
2000 Prof. Alten Grandt, Jr.
1999 Prof. Jaap Schijve
1998 Mr. Thomas Swift
1997 Mr. Charles F. Tiffany
1996 Dr. John W. Lincoln
Year Manager of the Year Award Winners
2022 Jessie W. Martin
2021 Gregory T. Wood
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Richard B. Tayek
2018 Travis L. Reese
2017 Jon Kimmel
2016 Wirt Garcia
2015 Robert E. Bair
2014 David K. Wilkinson
2013 Darren B. Fritz
2012 Rodney Harberson
2011 Bryce Harris
2010 Paul D. Currie
2009 Michael P. Blinn
2008 Mike Sneed
2007 Mark L. Thomsen
2006 Peter J. Christiansen
2005 J. Alex Gaskin
2004 Alfred A. Clark