ASIP 2022

Lincoln Award Winner

2016 Lincoln Award Winner

Anders obtained his M.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering at Linköping University in 1979 after having spent his last year making thesis work, on plasma welded bellows for ultra high vacuum applications, at CERN (the European Organization for Nuclear Research) in Geneva, Switzerland. He then joined the Aeronautical Research Institute of Sweden (FFA) in 1980, which was merged with another institute into the Swedish Defence Research Agency (FOI) in 2001. He has held various positions at these organizations, including head of fatigue and fracture, head of structures and materials, and head of aeronautics.

Anders currently has two half time functions as research director for aeronautics at FOI and as program director for INNOVAIR, the national strategic innovation program for aeronautics. The latter runs both research and demonstrator programs for both civil and military aeronautics and involves all national actors, i.e., large industries (Saab and GKN Aerospace Sweden), SMEs, universities, institutes (FOI, Swerea), agencies (Armed Forces, Swedish Defence Materiel Administration) and governmental bodies, see

Anders earned his Ph.D. (1984) and D.Sc. (1985) in Lightweight Structures at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Stockholm where he was also adjunct professor 1987-1996. He was elected member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences in 1994 and has held various functions there, including being chairman of the Division for Mechanical Engineering, chairman of the Industrial Research Group, and chairman of the Akzo Nobel Science Award.

From his experience in aeronautical R&D are some 150 papers on fatigue and fracture, fibre composites, non-linear finite element analysis, structural and materials testing, damage tolerance and durability of aircraft structures, etc. He has worked on structural issues for various civil and military aircraft, introduction of damage tolerance criteria for the fighter 37 Viggen, certification of the new Swedish fighter Gripen, multiple cracking in Finnish Air Force´s F-18, failure analysis of Ariane 5 rocket for Arianespace, France, failure analysis of various nuclear reactor components, fatigue of large wind turbines in Sweden and Denmark, and consulting on structural and material problems for Volvo Michigan Euclid, Avesta Sheffield, Swedish Steel, Sunds Defibrator, and other Swedish industries.

Anders became the Swedish national delegate to ICAF in 1985, and is the general secretary of ICAF since 2005. He was active in AGARD (NATO Advisory Group for Aeronautical Research and Development) where he was main lecturer for NATO Advanced Institute on Advances in Fatigue Science and Technology in 1988. He is the Swedish representative, appointed by Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation, in ACARE General Assembly (Advisory Council for Aviation Research and Innovation in Europe) and national council member of ICAS (International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences).

Anders is also currently a Board Member of:
- EREA (Association of European Research Establishments in Aeronautics)
- GARTEUR (Group for Aeronautical Research and Technology in Europe) where he is head of the Swedish Delegation, appointed by Ministry of Defence.
- IFAR (International Forum for Aeronautical Research)

He is further a national technical expert in EDA (European Defence Agency) Cap Tech ESM02 (Air Systems and their Environment) and is the chairman of the steering committee for the International Fatigue Series.

Anders was awarded the F.J. Plantema Award by ICAF in 2001. He has also received the Thulin silver medal, for development of fatigue and fracture mechanics for metallic structures, in 1997, and the Thulin gold medal, for his contributions to Swedish Aeronautics, in 2016. The latter are awarded by the Swedish Society for Aeronautics and Astronautics together with the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Privately, Anders spends time on classical music, his art collection, scuba diving, travelling, and his family consisting of Ana-Maria, two sons, a grandson, and two bonus children.


View the History of Dr. Jack Lincoln

Dr. Jack lincoln

Dr. Anders Blom, Swedish Defence Research Agency and INNOVAIR

Year Lincoln Award Winners
2023 Mr. Chris Maddox
2022 Dr. Lawrence M. Butkus
2021 Dr. Dale L. Ball
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Mr. Ko-Wei Liu
2018 Dr. Robert "Bob" J. Bucci
2017 Mr. Robert J. Burt
2016 Dr. Anders Blom
2015 Mr. Ed Ingram
2014 Mr. Larry Perkins
2013 Dr. Thomas R. Brussat
2012 Mr. James L. Rudd
2011 Mr. Len Reid
2010 Professor Graham Clark
2009 Mr. Robert M. Bader
2008 Dr. Joseph P. Gallagher
2007 Dr. Alan P. Berens
2006 Dr. Ulf G. Goranson
2005 Mr. Charles R. Saff
2004 Mr. Robert Bell
2003 Mr. Ward Rummel
2002 Mr. Royce Forman
2001 Prof. James C. Newman, Jr.
2000 Prof. Alten Grandt, Jr.
1999 Prof. Jaap Schijve
1998 Mr. Thomas Swift
1997 Mr. Charles F. Tiffany
1996 Dr. John W. Lincoln
Year Manager of the Year Award Winners
2022 Jessie W. Martin
2021 Gregory T. Wood
2020 Delayed Until 2021
2019 Richard B. Tayek
2018 Travis L. Reese
2017 Jon Kimmel
2016 Wirt Garcia
2015 Robert E. Bair
2014 David K. Wilkinson
2013 Darren B. Fritz
2012 Rodney Harberson
2011 Bryce Harris
2010 Paul D. Currie
2009 Michael P. Blinn
2008 Mike Sneed
2007 Mark L. Thomsen
2006 Peter J. Christiansen
2005 J. Alex Gaskin
2004 Alfred A. Clark